top of page

Vegan Chorizo Tacos w/ Spinach, Pinto Beans, + Guac (High-Protein + Easy to Make)


Happy Friday-eve all! Today I'm bringing you a bomb taco recipe that I was able to fit into my macros using The Be Hive's Chorizo Seitan that I grabbed at Nashville VegFest. With 19 grams of protein and only 4 grams of carbs per serving, this meat alternative is super macro friendly and delicious. This entire meal came out to less than 400 calories and made every day last week #TacoTuesday!

The Be Hive is a company local to Nashville that makes some of the best seitan I've ever had. I love going out to eat and finding their products on the menu. (Disclaimer: this is not sponsored, although I would totally be down for that, I just really love their products!) Unfortunatly, you can only get their stuff if you're in the Nashville area. But, I've already done the hard work and found some replacements for anyone who wants to try this recipe. Uptons Naturals sells a similar chorizo seitan which you can find online and in stores. Their product is a little lower in protein (15 g) but could still easily be worked into your macros. If you can't find either of those products, you can always make your own seitan. The Seitan O' Greatness recipe is my go-to for anything that would normally be a red meat. Add in some taco seasoning, throw the finished product into a food processor, and you'll be all set with some taco "beef" crumbles.

Now, onto the recipe!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 an Avocado

  • 2 TBSP Salsa

  • 1-2 TSP Lime Juice

  • Salt and Pepper

  • 1/2 TBSP Oil or Cooking Spray (Optional)

  • 1 Clove Garlic

  • 1/4 White Onion

  • 1 Serving (~3 oz) Chorizo or Taco-flavored Seitan

  • 1/4 C Pinto or Chili Beans

  • 1/2 C Frozen Spinach or 1 C Fresh Spinach

  • 3 Corn Tortillas

Directions

  1. Start by adding your avocado, salsa, and lime juice to a bowl. Mash with a fork until you have your desired guacamole consistency. Salt and pepper to taste.

  2. Heat oil or cooking spray (can also use 1 TBSP of water for oil-free) in a skillet over medium-high heat. Mince garlic clove and dice onion, then add to pan. Sauté until browned, about 2-3 minutes, stirring frequently to keep from burning.

  3. Add seitan, beans, and spinach to pan. Cook until everything is heated through and the spinach is wilted (if using fresh), about 5-7 minutes.

  4. While that cooks, heat your tortillas. You can do this in the microwave, oven, or on the stove. I've also used a toaster with much success!

  5. Once everything is done, scoop taco filling into tortillas and top with guacamole. You will likely have more filling and guac than tortillas, but I'm a fan of mixing the leftovers together and just eating it straight :)

Makes: 1 serving (3 tacos)

Nutritional information: 393 Calories / 26.9 g P / 52.2 g C / 7.2 g F

Note: Depending on your calorie and macro goals you can play around with the amount of beans, "meat", and tortillas used.

xo

Courtney

vegan for the animals but also for the carbs

I'M COURTNEY

After years of yo-yo dieting, going from paleo to juice cleanses and everything in-between, the plant-based lifestyle helped me heal my relationship with food, lose 40 lbs, and save a few animals in the process. 

 

This is my space to share my recipes, meal preps, and tips to make this lifestyle work for you.

 

Also, to share in my love of carbs.

CONTACT ME

courtneylovescarbs@gmail.com

RECENT BLOGS

MAILING LIST

LATEST GRAMS

bottom of page